Form 8-K












Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of report (Date of earliest event reported): May 22, 2012




(Exact Name of Registrant as Specified in Charter)




Massachusetts   001-06462   04-2272148

(State or Other Jurisdiction

of Incorporation)



File Number)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)


600 Riverpark Drive, North Reading, MA   01864
(Address of Principal Executive Offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code (978) 370-2700


(Former Name or Former Address, if Changed Since Last Report)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions (see General Instruction A.2. below):


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.02(b). Departure of Directors or Certain Officers; Election of Directors; Appointment of Certain Officers; Compensatory Arrangements of Certain Officers.

On May 22, 2012, Teradyne, Inc. (the “Company”) was notified of the decision by Jeffrey R. Hotchkiss, President, Systems Test Group, to retire as an executive officer of the Company effective June 29, 2012.

Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders

Teradyne, Inc. (the “Company”) held its 2012 Annual Meeting of Stockholders on May 22, 2012 (the “Annual Meeting”). At the Annual Meeting, the stockholders voted on the following proposals:

1. To elect the eight nominees named in the Company’s proxy statement filed with the Commission on April 12, 2012 to the Board of Directors to serve as directors for a one-year term. Each nominee for director was elected by a vote of the stockholders as follows:



   Votes For      Votes Against      Votes Abstained      Broker Non-Votes  

James W. Bagley

     148,116,119         4,648,499         32,987         17,347,638   

Michael A. Bradley

     148,522,175         4,242,664         32,766         17,347,638   

Albert Carnesale

     145,946,055         6,803,183         48,367         17,347,638   

Daniel W. Christman

     134,850,543         17,896,841         50,221         17,347,638   

Edwin J. Gillis

     151,103,662         1,647,055         46,888         17,347,638   

Timothy E. Guertin

     150,053,973         2,695,044         48,588         17,347,638   

Paul J. Tufano

     152,227,672         523,183         46,750         17,347,638   

Roy A. Vallee

     145,665,197         7,086,232         46,176         17,347,638   

2. To conduct an advisory vote on the compensation of the Company’s named executive officers. The compensation of the Company’s named executive officers was approved on an advisory basis by a vote of stockholders as follows:


Votes For

   Votes Against      Votes Abstained      Broker Non-Votes  


     1,921,290         60,044         17,347,638   

3. To ratify the selection of the firm of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2012. The proposal was approved by a vote of stockholders as follows:


Votes For

   Votes Against      Votes Abstained  


     5,809,872         68,546   


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.


Dated: May 29, 2012     By:  

/s/ Gregory R. Beecher


Gregory R. Beecher


V.P., Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer